Raymond James Stadium to host the 2017 College Football Playoff National Championship

06 January 2017
Img 4067 v2


For the THIRD year in a row, the College Football National Champion will be crowned at a Walter P Moore-designed facility. Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida will host Monday night’s matchup between the Alabama Crimson Tide, winners of the Peach Bowl and the Clemson Tigers, winners of the Fiesta Bowl. Kickoff is at 8:30 p.m. EST on ESPN.

Walter P Moore was a key member of the original design team for the stadium — which opened in 1998 — and has continued to serve as the structural engineer for various renovations, including the recent $140M renovation master plan from 2014-2017. Most notably, fans will enjoy new, state-of-the-art HD video boards in each end zone and four tower HD video displays in each corner of the lower bowl, giving the stadium over 30,000 square feet of video display area.

After the final whistle, construction will begin on the last phase of renovations slated for completion in fall 2017.

Walter P Moore stadiums have hosted every title game of the College Football Playoff era:
2014AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas (Ohio State 42 – Oregon 20)
2015University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona (Alabama 45 – Clemson 40)
2016Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida (Alabama vs. Clemson)

In addition to hosting this year’s College Football Playoff Championship game, Raymond James Stadium has hosted Super Bowls XXXV (2001) and XLIII (2009) along with the annual Outback Bowl.

Stay updated on our latest insights, news, events, advancements, and successes we’ve achieved with our clients.